Thursday, January 22, 2009


Well, there must be something exceptional about Malaysian hockey coaches if the article below is
to be believed. At a time when the Malaysian Hockey Federation has no faith in local coaches, thus the talk continues towards securing a foreign coach (something that I will comment about as there are new developments made available to me), it seems that an academy from India has more faith in the ability of our coaches. So much so that they will be here for 14 days to pick up tips and knowledge from our coaches. What say you NSC?

Chandigarh hockey academy players to train in Malaysia

Friday, 16 January 2009

CHANDIGARH: An 18-member team, including two officials, of the Chandigarh hockey academy, a venture of the Chandigarh administration, on Friday left for Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia) for training-cum-competitions from January 17 to February 1.
Giving this information here today, Chandigarh Sports Director Inderjit Singh Sandhu said "the tour is to provide advance training and international exposure to the Under-17 hockey team of the academy like the trainees of the Chandigarh Football Academy get scientific training in Germany."
Sandhu said "the Chandigarh Hockey Academy players are giving good account of themselves at national level. During the Malaysian tour the academy boys would further hon their skills and get international exposure. Winning the Junior Nehru Hockey Tournament will be one of their goals."
Former mental trainer of the Indian hockey team, Dr JPS Singh, Joint Director, Chandigarh Sports Department, who is accompanying the team as chief delegate, said "besides getting advanced training under the Malaysian Hockey Federation coaches, the Chandigarh Hockey Academy boys would play seven to matches against the Malaysian junior hockey teams. It will be an educative tour for the 'senior' academy players."
The following are the members of the academy team who will get training in Kuala Lumpur: Inderjit Singh, Manmeet Raj Singh, Gurjant Singh, Baljot Singh, Gagandeep Singh, Bikram Jeet Singh, Gurjinder Singh, Captain Singh, Gagandeep Singh, Kanwaldeep Singh, Charanjit Singh, Sahejpreet Singh, Gurinder Pal Singh, Abjeet Singh, Bikramjit Singh, Damandeep Kaleka and Harcharan Singh.