Wednesday, March 31, 2010


One of the T-shirts Lee Chong Wei wore on the road to his historical win in the recently held Yonex All England is being put to auction today, Monday March 29th, 2010 for a limited time – one week – with bidding to close on April 5th, 2010 on Solibad.

The world number one from Malaysia, who ended his country’s title drought in the prestigious event since 2003, gave away one of his winning shirts right after the final before signing it.

“It is my pleasure to give this special T-shirt to Solibad for its hard work. I wish the foundation all the best and I hope the selling of the shirt will be of some help,” said Lee Chong Wei after the final.

The T-shirt is the limited edition that only Lee Chong Wei wears and cannot be found in regular stores.

All the proceeds from the auction will be going to the newly born foundation Solibad – Badminton Without Borders, which helps local projects around the world. Some of the ongoing projects are orphanages in Kuala Lumpur, Lee Chong Wei’s home, but also in Bali, Indonesia, and a common project with “Peace & Sport” called “1000 rackets for Haiti”.

The auction starts at noon on March 29th on Ebay, and will be closing next Monday, April 5th, at 11.00 am Paris time (10 am GMT, 6 PM Kuala Lumpur time)