Friday, June 22, 2007


In honour of Tan Sri Noordin Hassan, who served as President of the Kuala Lumpur Hockey Association, a testimonial match comprising of players that represented Kuala Lumpur over the last three decades will be held on July 3rd 2007 at the Kuala Lumpur Hockey Association Stadium.
The two teams will be led by fomer Malaysian skippers, with N. Sri Shanmuganathan and Sarjit Singh leading Team A while R. Ramakrishnan and Nor Saiful Zaini will take charge of Team B.
Amongst the players that have confirmed their participation in the testimonial match are former national coaches Stephen Van Huizen, Wallace Tan and Yahya Atan as well as former international from the 80’s to the 90’s in the likes of Colin Sta Maria, James Murthy, Mirnawan Nawawi, Calvin Fernandez, Shanker Ramu, Tai Beng Hai and ex women internationals K. Maheswari, Lum Sau Fong and Christina Chin.
In addition to the match, KLHA will also be holding an appreciation dinner for Tan Sri Noordin on July 6th at the Royal Selangor Club.